{"ops":[{"insert":{"card-link":"Apocalypse Hydra"}},{"insert":" costs X plus red and green to cast, minimum mana cost is 3. App counts the CMC of this card and other X cards as 2. I have manually updated it but seems odd that this isn’t counted as 3 CMC in the first place. \n"}]}
0
{"ops":[{"insert":"In official Magic rules, a card with X in its mana cost always counts the X as 0 when considering CMC unless the card is on the stack. For instance, you could tutor for Apocalypse Hydra if you had a card that allowed you to search your library for a creature with CMC 2, but not if it explicitly required some other CMC. However, the moment you cast Apocalypse Hydra, until it resolves, it is a spell with CMC equal to 2+ whatever you paid for X. Even at that point, 3 would not be the minimum cost because you could technically pay 0 for X. While this means that the hydra would come into play with 0 +1/+1 counters on it, it could still live if you had a static anthem effect from something like "},{"insert":{"card-link":"Glorious Anthem"}},{"insert":" that immediately gave it toughness. Or you could cast it for X equal to 0 and immediately let it die for a death trigger or something. Options! \n\nAll of that is a long way of saying that while a card with X in its mana cost is in your library, the X absolutely counts as 0 for determining CMC. Having it reflected that way by default in the deckbuilder makes more sense than picking some other number for X. That being said, if it's more intuitive to you to have it set to something else, that's exactly what we have the custom CMC feature for so feel free! \n"}]}
2
{"ops":[{"insert":"Thank you for taking the time to reply, love the explanation. \n"}]}
0